Call Now

Netaji Subhash Open University - NSOU Kolkata

Updated on: Feb 7, 2013
Just a decade old, the Netaji Subhas Open University has gained the status of an important center of learning and education. Having its presence in five locations across Kolkata, the Netaji Subhas Open University is also developing a sprawling campus in Kalyani, with a total area of 15 acres. There are around 160 study centers, where the university imparts education to its students.

The Netaji Subhas Open University offers undergraduate, post graduate and PhD programmes in humanities, commerce and science subjects. The NSOU also offers programmes in interdisciplinary subjects like library science. The students can also enroll in professional courses like business administration.

The Netaji Subhas Open University is a member of the Association of Commonwealth Universities, which is an organization involved in advancing cooperation among commonwealth nations in the field of education.

Among the facilities provided by the Netaji Subhas Open University to its students, self instructional study papers, radio counseling in an interactive basis and audio-visual aids are a few. One of the important features of this university is that in spite of being an open university, The study material provided by the university are competent enough  to guide the students to complete their education with less frequent teacher interaction as compared to the regular class room.

Owing to its contributions in the field of distance learning, the Netaji Subhas Open University has won the Commonwealth of Learning Excellence in Distance Education Award for Institutional Achievement, in the year 2006.

The NSOU, Kolkata, also has a well stocked library with study resources for all subjects. Apart from this, what attracts students from all over the state is the medium of instruction. Even though the courses are offered in Bangla, the students are allowed to answer in both Bengali and English.

The students who are interested in getting admissions in the Netaji Subhas Open University start preparing before the process starts in around April or May. The Netaji Subhas Open University course fees are ideal for the students who cannot afford to take admissions in other universities due to financial constraints. The distance education courses offered at Netaji Subhas Open University are one of the most popular in the state of West Bengal due to their viability.

With all these features the Netaji Subhas Open University is really striving hard to maintain its motive to “Reach the Unreached”.

Faculties & Departments

There are 4 Faculties at Netaji Subhas Open University (NSOU), Kolkata, which are responsible for imparting education  to the students. The Netaji Subhas Open University is dedicated to provide education to the students who had to discontinue their formal years of education due to some unforeseen reasons or, are unable to pursue it due to professional requirements. Following are listed NSOU Faculties and Departments under them.

School of Science
  • Mathematics
  • Zoology
  • Geography
  • Physics
  • Chemistry
  • Botany
School of Humanities and Social Science
  • Bengali
  • English
  • History
  • Economics
  • Political Science
  • Public Administration
  • Sociology
The other two departments at are:
  • B.Ed Special Education
  • Bangla Online
All these Faculties are enriched with programme coordinators, consultants, lecturers and senior lecturers to provide personal help to the students.

For further information related to NSOU Kolkata click on the links provided below:

Courses Offered
Correspondence Courses
Exam Results
Contact Details

Subscribe to our newsletter

Learn all about Kolkata
Explore our interactive map!